Webasto electric use?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BDofMSP

Guru
Vessel Name
Gopher Broke
Vessel Make
Silverton 410 Sport Bridge
Chartering a Ranger Tug this weekend in the San Juan's and expect to be using the Webasto furnace full time. I have zero experience with one so I'm wondering how concerned I need to be around battery draw if we're off shore power overnight. I'll definitely ask the charter folks, but I thought I'd ask the experts first. Sorry, I don't know what battery banks this boat has but it's only a year old and we're the first charter.
Thanks,
BD

Depends on the make up of the system?

Pumps? Air circulating fans? Valves?

Hopefully, the battery bank has been properly sized to support an untethered overnite?

RB

Yeah I know - I don't have good information. I'm sure it's a stock unit so I just thought someone here might have some experience with it. Longshot.
BD

Since we are only guessing, I would guess that you will be OK with it running overnight. Check with the charter folks though.

For sure. That helps. I guess I was really asking if it would even be reasonable to hope for that. Like if someone asked if they could run their AC off the inverter all night I'd say that's not very likely. This seems to be at least possible. They'll hopefully know all the details.
Thanks
BD

To minimize electrical consumption adjust so the unit runs longer during it’s cycle. Like comes on at 68 degrees and shuts off at 73 as an example. If you set it to come on at 70 and shut down at 72 more electrons will be consumed because startup consumes much more power.
Also a smaller heater in a bigger boat will tend to stay on longer and it will be the more efficient.