Stabilizer gyro scope for trawler

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zayne

I am new to trawlers been sailing a monohull most of my life , never had an issue with stabilizing a sail boat , now I am looking to acquire my first trawler and need some expert advise whether a gyro stabilizer like a sea keeper is actually required on a trawler especially when at anchor ….

Way too many variables. Where will you be boating? What type of boat? How much tolerance do you and your crew have for motion?

So “required” is dependent on too many things. I would say “required” isn’t even the right term. “Desired” may be better.

I don’t have active or passive stabilization on my boat. There are times when it would be really nice. A SeaKeeper of the right size would be nice, but in my situation there would be too many sacrifices that would have to be made for it.

"....especially when at anchor...." The power requirements for a Seakeeper are substantial.....I would just not want to anchor where one was needed as running a generator 24/7 would not be a viable option for me.

If you've been part of a boating community perhaps you've got some friends who might take you out for a weekend ? Maybe there are chartering opportunities where you plan to cruise ? As dhays said.....this is kind of like what underwear is more comfortable......it really depends on your needs and tolerance.