Newb to AC

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Noclutch

Please excuse my ignorance, but it’s what it is as I have no experience with air conditioners on boats.
I’m early in the process of deciding which boat/brand to order, but one of their differences is one offers a water cooled built in AC with reverse heat cycle, and the other offers a roof top AC unit.
I’m familiar with roof tops in some previous RV applications in the past, but the whole fresh water cooled thing is new to me.
From what I’ve gathered here, the pros to built in are aesthetics, maybe more likely to run underway(not a big concern but cool) with an inverter, and maybe easier start up amperage draw if on generator. Cons are potential water flow obstruction, less than ideal vent placement ( ie at shin height vs overhead) and limited access for maintenance.
Pros for overhead are access and cool air distribution, cost about half of built in. Cons may be noisier and certainly ugly up there.

What else am I missing? I’m all ears/eyes and thank you :)

The water cooled units that are mounted within the boat and use ductwork to distribute the air throughout the boat or the zone they support are only limited by the room to install them and the quality of the installation when it comes to air distribution. There is probably more work involved in most cases. The water cooled units are quieter, or at least all of the modern ones with rotary compressors.

The roof mount ones, similar to an RV are pretty straightforward to install but not everyone wants a large hole in the deck or cabin and the appearance of them. It really depends on the configuration of the cabin and your preferences. A roof mounted unit does have the ability to run when the boat is out of the water which could allow you to use use a trailerable boat as a camper of sorts or just make life easier when working on it at your house.