Old 04-15-2015, 08:29 AM   #1

City: Washington, DC
Vessel Name: Starside
Vessel Model: 1930 Elco Marinette
Bow or Stern thrusters?

I'm seriously considering a thruster for easier handling - I'm a lone cruiser in a single screw & get tossed around quite easily even in low swells. My max speed is 7 knots, plus I'm a novice.

But here's my question - is it best to have a bow or stern thruster? Or both?

My boat's an antique 27' Elco and my rudder causes me trouble too), but my instincts tell me to get a stern thruster. My thought behind this is that that's where I will be to throw lines for docking.

Still, I wanted to ask others, esp lone captains who have the experience w thrusters.

Any thoughts? Again, I'm a novice & get nervous docking, esp after her restoration.
Starside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 08:39 AM   #2
Veteran Member

City: Florence
Vessel Name: Jubilee
Vessel Model: Prima Seahorse
Having a high freeboard, enclosed flybridge, narrow slip with blind stern, and using locks frequently, I have, and enjoy, both bow and stern thrusters. I suggest you consider having installed by professional with thruster experience to insure correct installation re hull, wiring, charging, controls, etc. Look for boating friends with thrusters and give them a try. Certainly you can development the skills to maneuver your single screw, but it about enjoyment of boating to me.
sea hag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 08:40 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

City: Cameron, La
Vessel Name: Baobab
Vessel Model: Bayliner 4788
I have both on a single engine boat. My "pivot" point is aft and as I can put my bow where I want it, use my stern thruster much more than the bow. Both are handy in tight places but if I had to choose I would have a stern (on my boat).
dimer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 08:43 AM   #4
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,