Old 01-17-2018, 05:45 PM   #1

City: Panama City
Question Newbie here... Cali 34LRC vs. CHB 34? 30k liveaboard

Been looking on yachtworld and watching videos for years now and it is finally coming close to time when I can make my dreams a reality. My perception is that I can get a decently livable/cruisable boat for around 30k. What I am looking at now is either a Californian 34 LRC and the Taiwan made 34s like the CHB, Albin, Marine Trader ect. They seem to all be the same. I am eager to hear more experienced opinions on how far off I am with my perceptions and maybe some comparisons between these boats and others in this price and size range.
Thanks in advance for all the help!
deepsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 05:52 PM   #2

Also a little about myself. I am 23, just out of the army (I was a diver), I don`t mind roughing it or working on my own stuff. I really like the idea of the single Ford 120. But the twin diesels seem to have their advantages as well and I like that the Californian is US made. Maybe if someone doesn't mind maybe expanding on the single vs. twin a little? Also if it makes a difference I am primarily looking at boats from the 70's and 80's.
Old 01-17-2018, 08:30 PM   #3
Guru

City: San Diego
Vessel Model: Helmsman 4304
Thank you for your service. You came to the right place with those questions, so I will let others with experience with those particular boats answer them. Don’t get hung up on 1 vs 2 engines. There are a lot of threads on here that discuss it. It’s more about the boat fitting what you are after in regards to liveable space, cruising, etc.
Fletcher500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 09:37 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

City: SEWARD ALASKA
Vessel Name: DOS PECES
Vessel Model: BAYLINER 4788
I do not have a boat in that size and vintage so I cannot offer first hand knowledge of model comparisons.

That said I can offer some advice on boat hunting in that size and budget range.