Grand Banks Classic 36 1973 GRP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sweetypie

Hello Everyone,

I am looking at Purchasing the below GB 36 to convert to a self sufficient Live aboard in the coming months.

https://yachthub.com/list/boats-for-sale/used/power-boats/grand-banks-36-price-reduced/162302

The Boat is a 1973 Fiberglass Hull GB 36 Aft cabin, I am looking for advice from those who have had to deal with issues on similar boats, Manly what kind of damage can be expected to need repairing from the windows leaking for years.

The Engines are in great condition, The teak decks have been removed and replaced with fibreglass. Mechanically she seems to be in very good condition.

I am a Carpenter, So I'm not afraid of the work. However I do not want to over capitalise on the repairs.

My Plan is to remove the Galley and replace with a full length Countertop and new Cupboards, Install a hidden Washing Machine, Draw Fridges, Dishwasher and Sink.

The Aft Cabin I will Remove the current beds and replace with a queen mounted sideways rather than for an aft as it currently stands.

I want to remodel the aft Head as its worn and dated.

I want to make a large Canopy/Bimini to cover the aft cabin and rear deck, this will be a solid structure with multiple solar panels moulded into it. with a Dingy cradle in the centre.

And Finally I want to possibly install Paravanes to the vessel by removing the current mast and replacing with an Aluminium version that hinges the to Poles out horizontally when needed.

Before I go and view the boat again I would like to see what others think.

So thank you in advance for your input.

Below is a GB 42 with the Hardtop/Bimini I want to construct, Only I will make it out of foam sheets and epoxy rather than Plywood.

https://yachthub.com/list/boats-for...banks-42-classic-flybridge-motor-yacht/271346

Welcome Aboard!