Old 07-10-2017, 12:19 AM   #1

City: Phoenix
Art Afloat

My husband and I have begun planning for retirement and are looking forward to cruising the loop. As an artist, I'm looking forward to gathering many inspirational photos along the way, but giving up actually painting for an entire year is something that troubles me. I'm an oil painter and have no interest in working with another medium or creating art via the computer. Are there any painters out there traveling on a boat and how do you make it work? I bet this is a new question for the forum! Thanks for any information.
artafloat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 12:27 AM   #2

Determined to make this work!

My husband and I are planning to do the loop thing next year and we're super excited! I'm an artist and somehow, someway, I intend to continue painting. That's my challenge and I'll figure it out. I can't imagine being surrounded with so much inspiration and not being able to paint!
Old 07-10-2017, 12:35 AM   #3
Guru

City: Sydney
Why do think you need to stop painting or are you looking for an excuse to stop ?
gaston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 12:40 AM   #4

Heck no! It's just messy and boats rock and roll. I've made up my mind that I will work smaller, 8x10 instead of 18x22. I'm just curious if any other artist has created a fulltime art space on a trawler?
Old 07-10-2017, 12:44 AM   #5
Guru

City: Kitimat, North Coast BC
Vessel Name: Badger
Vessel Model: 30' Sundowner Tug
Quote:
Originally Posted by artafloat View Post
I'm an oil painter and have no interest in working with another medium...
Really? Aren't you doing 'rough sketches' or at least 'informational sketches' with your camera already?