Old 10-06-2020, 09:24 AM   #1

City: Davie
Exclamation Marine Air Conditioner (Help Please)12v DC

I am looking for a 12v DC unit for a Lagoon 42. Any suggestions?
Rick in Davie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2020, 05:40 AM   #2
FF
Guru

Shop the OTR advertisers ( large truck sites)

They have 5,000 BTU units that can cool the sleeping compartment over night , and recharge a mass of batts in the next 8-10 hour drive... Try Red Dot
FF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2020, 07:55 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by FF View Post
Shop the OTR advertisers ( large truck sites)

They have 5,000 BTU units that can cool the sleeping compartment over night , and recharge a mass of batts in the next 8-10 hour drive... Try Red Dot
Thank you for the reply however I don't think that 5000 BTU will cover me. Also where are the OTR advertisers? I am new to this any completely lost.
Old 10-07-2020, 07:56 AM   #4
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
I suspect that these truck 12V A/C units are like window A/C units. They exhaust heat out the back into the environment. Unless you can mount one to do that, they won't work in your boat.

You probably need a marine specific, raw water cooled 12V A/C unit. These have been debated on this forum, but I think that they are smaller than 5,000 btu/hr, maybe enough for a state room. Do a search.

David
DavidM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2020, 07:58 AM   #5

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidM View Post
I suspect that these truck 12V A/C units are like window A/C units. They exhaust heat out the back into the environment. Unless you can mount one to do that, they won't work in your boat.

You probably need a marine specific, raw water cooled 12V A/C unit. These have been debated on this forum, but I think that they are smaller than 5,000 btu/hr, maybe enough for a state room. Do a search.

David