Work life while liveaboard

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Basmith1971

Hi! I’m Bruce just starting to explore moving south an living aboard. I was wanting find some people who work reg jobs an live aboard. So give me some advise. Let’s talk I’m a noob to all things boating in the ocean

Maritime jobs offer an easier way to liveaboard and work. Retired now, but early in life was a shipwright and usually kept my boat at the yard where I worked. Also was a commercial fisherman and lived on my boat year round. Owned tugs and lived aboard. Served on ships, etc. Another benefit of the commercial waterfront is dockage was either free or cheap and sometimes included electricity. Docks aren't as nice as marinas.
Sometimes industrial sites will give free dockage just to have someone on the water, looking out for their docks. I once stayed at a sugar mill dock. People had been stealing electric and plumbing parts. They paid me to dock there, put in a floating dock to fit my boat, free electric and water. It pays to look around.

Certain Information Technology related careers can help! If you haven't already, you might want to read news articles about people who managed to continue their work (from home) without missing a beat during this Covid-19 pandemic.

Hi! I’m Bruce just starting to explore moving south an living aboard. I was wanting find some people who work reg jobs an live aboard. So give me some advise. Let’s talk I’m a noob to all things boating in the ocean

Welcome to TF!