Why is the trawler tilting ???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
A trawler I’m about to buy is tilting to its starboarded side . The broker told me it’s because the fuel tank in the starboard side might not be full as the port side. Does it make sense? It sounded weird to me, but I’m not an expert in boats…any reason why it’s tilting?

Yes, or water tanks, or tools, or food stores...etc...etc.....

Thank you. So if more people will stand on one side, then the other, then the boat will tilt ? I would assume it will be more noticeable in smaller boats…does it matter when you cruise so much to make always sure all tanks are the same ?

Yes.... people will make trawlers tilt (proper term is list) even up to the 40 foot range...but total displacement matters as well as hull shape.

Yes, you have to consider loading underway or at the dock.....

Yes water, fuel, tools and people I tell the wife to stay in the middle of the boat so she leaves me alone :)

If the starboard tank is not as full as the port tank, then it would list towards the port side. It also depends on just how severe of a list we are talking about. If you're talking about a 2-3 degree list then probably not a big deal. If you're talking about a 10 degree list then something is wrong here.

Lots of ways...any Velez or phone app with degree marks....

Based on your other post concerning the trawler for $70,000.....

....and this set of questions.....you may be in over your head with a 42 foot trawler of questionable repair. How sure are you about this whole thing?

If you do proceed with this boat, make sure to get a good survey. If it is just fuel, there may be a cross connect between the tanks that will let them equalize the fuel levels. Something to consider doing before the survey and sea trial.