Old 07-05-2021, 02:38 PM   #1

City: Bc
Why is the trawler tilting ???

A trawler I’m about to buy is tilting to its starboarded side . The broker told me it’s because the fuel tank in the starboard side might not be full as the port side. Does it make sense? It sounded weird to me, but I’m not an expert in boats…any reason why it’s tilting?
Newadventure52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 02:42 PM   #2
Guru

City: Ft Pierce
Vessel Name: Sold
Vessel Model: Was an Albin/PSN 40
Yes, or water tanks, or tools, or food stores...etc...etc.....
psneeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 02:45 PM   #3

Thank you. So if more people will stand on one side, then the other, then the boat will tilt ? I would assume it will be more noticeable in smaller boats…does it matter when you cruise so much to make always sure all tanks are the same ?
Old 07-05-2021, 02:49 PM   #4
Guru

Yes.... people will make trawlers tilt (proper term is list) even up to the 40 foot range...but total displacement matters as well as hull shape.

Yes, you have to consider loading underway or at the dock.....
Old 07-05-2021, 02:58 PM   #5
Swa

City: Tampa
Yes water, fuel, tools and people I tell the wife to stay in the middle of the boat so she leaves me alone :-)
Swa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 03:19 PM   #6
Guru

City: Tampa, FL
If the starboard tank is not as full as the port tank, then it would list towards the port side. It also depends on just how severe of a list we are talking about. If you're talking about a 2-3 degree list then probably not a big deal. If you're talking about a 10 degree list then something is wrong here.
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 03:26 PM   #7

Thank you all, how can I measure the listing degree?
Old 07-05-2021, 03:47 PM   #8
Guru

Lots of ways...any Velez or phone app with degree marks....

Based on your other post concerning the trawler for $70,000.....