What did you fix on your boat today?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Galley sink stopped draining. Easy job right? HA!
The girlfriend pulled everything from under the sink, could not loosen both end of the U fitting. Removed the the fittings from both sinks. Smart enough to put a 5 gallon under the sink that would not drain. Collected the used water and dumped it over the side. I found LOTS of grease, soap and 'stuff' clogging the pipe. Reassembled everything, no leaks. GF, Yen, sopped the spillage, cleaned inside the cabinet, put every back and I went to take a rather lengthy nap.
I have been collecting all the grease for the last 5 years. If I hadn't been collecting grease I would have had to do that job earlier. Now it is done and hope I do not have to revisit that job again. The pipe that connects the two sink drain and the U fitting were totally full.
The obvious question is, what can I put in the sink drain to prevent it from happening again? What do you recommend for the shower drain that wont ruin the shower drain pump??

What should have been a one hour job turned out to be a 3+ hour job and a 4 hour nap.

Last edited:
I have found using a cell phone or a cheap inspection camera are two of my most handy things to have around for repairs these days. A shaky video is better than nothing, especially at a later date when you need to remember a part#/serial# for something when you're ordering materials and the boat is hours away.

I agree. The cell phone is great, especially since I can't focus close anymore. Take a picture and expand it. I use it to track my hour meters.

The obvious question is, what can I put in the sink drain to prevent it from happening again? What do you recommend for the shower drain that wont ruin the shower drain pump??...