WeGoLook.com, anyone have comments

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oakbuilder

I am a total novice and would like to hire someone to make an initial look at a used trawler, not a survey, that's later. The We Go Look site says they will give it an inspection for about $100. Just wonder how legit they are. Thanks.

Umm, I was a novice too looking at big boats. Once I found what I liked, I hired a surveyor. I am very handy though. Take a friend along until you find what you like. Then hire the real deal. In my opinion, you’re just throwing money away for a companion without benefits. :eek:

Welcome aboard and happy hunting!

Thanks Donna, I too am very handy and am learning more about larger boats everyday but have never piloted a larger boat with all that that entails. I am not on the coast right now, still waiting on my house to sell. I can't really go run and look at every possibility and so was looking at my options.

Is the issue that you and the boat are in different locations and you don't want to travel? Or are you looking for someone with more knowledge than you to help evaluate boats?

You will find lots of discussions and opinions on brokers, but this is where a good buyer's broker can and should earn their keep. That doesn't mean all actually do, but it's at least the theory....

Personally I would only want someone I know to evaluate on my behalf. So a friend or broker, but always preferably myself.