Water in Diesel Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bacchus

Guru
Site Team
Vessel Name
Bacchus
Vessel Make
MS 34 HT Trawler
Original Post by Pete of Lazy Susan

I am new to the Trawler Forum. Today, I added 100 gallons of diesel to my Mainship Pilot. It has 2 tanks. I put 50 gallons in each tank. I then forgot to put the caps back on. I am in the nyc area and am ready to dry dock it for the winter. So right after fueling it up for the winter, I then started hosing it down to wash off the salt from my final cruise of the season. My guess is no more than a gallon of water went into the fuel tanks.
Besides additives, any suggestions.
There is still plenty of diesel (and water) in the nyc area
Pete of Lazy Susan

[As an update I moved the Water in Diesel question and responses to a new / separate thread in the General Discussion.
This should be easier to follow related responses and make it easier to search / find if others have similar question in the future]
My apologies for messing up the original post / poster identity in the process

Last edited:
Don’t worry about it, that’s what Racors are for, I suppose I have 4 in series with a water monitor on the first and second but still you should be able to monitor when you relaunch or if possible just pump the first 20lt to a can and check it after it’s sat for the winter and water has sat on pickups.

I am new to the Trawler Forum. Today, I added 100 gallons of diesel to my Mainship Pilot. It has 2 tanks. I put 50 gallons in each tank. I then forgot to put the caps back on. I am in the nyc area and am ready to dry dock it for the winter. So right after fueling it up for the winter, I then started hosing it down to wash off the salt from my final cruise of the season. My guess is no more than a gallon of water went into the fuel tanks.
There is still plennty of diesel (and water) in the nyc area