US Made vs Others

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

OBXSkipper

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Adagio
Vessel Make
Island Gypsy 32
We have been looking at Trawlers for some time now and the longer we look the more we feel the urge to buy American. We are in the market for a boat from 38-45 ft . We've sailed and motored for years on our Cape Dory 36, seems now would be a good time to make the transition. We've been looking at Marine Traders and Californian 38's. We need to stay under 90k and prefer not to buy a boat that's gonna require a lot of work to get her in shape. So my question is are US made boats and the Californians in particular better quality vessels ? Are there any real drawbacks to the California 's ? I can see a grounding could be costly as they are way more exposed than other vessels. I'm new to trawlers but have been on the water all my life. We are planing to cruise the ICW and over to the Bahamas and do the trip down as far as Georgetown . Home cruising grounds will be the Pamlico and Albermarle sounds and rivers in N/E NC. Thanks, Steve

OBX,

welcome. I think your limiting yourself by not considering a Taiwanese Trawler. You can buy a pretty decent 40 footer for that price.

Just a thought. Take a look at Heritage East and CHb.

Good luck.

I agree with Blue Heron, I think your chances of finding the ideal boat for your purposes will be greatly enhanced if you don't limit your search to boats from just one country.

If your concern is quality as opposed to principle, there are and have been extremely good boats made in Asia: Grand Banks in Kowloon (wood) and Singapore (fiberglass), Nordhavn (PRC), Island Gypsy (Hong Kong/PRC), deFevers, Flemings, Victory Tug, the list is awfully long. Some of the Taiwan makes need careful scrutiny as their quality can be very inconsistent.