Towing Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Montenido

Vessel Name
Ansedonia
Vessel Make
Californian/Carver 52CPMY
Hi folks,
I am new to power boating and so I have lots of questions. Today's questions involve towing another vessel. Where do you attach the tow line or bridle on your own boat? I have hawseholes on each stern quarter that lead to cleats. Would this be strong enough to tow another vessel? I would hate to rip out my cleats.

Second question would be at what speed would you tow a vessel similar in size to your own, in calm conditions?

Thanks, I just figure I should have an idea about this before the need arises, if ever.

Cheers, Bill

Let me start by saying i would be inclined to leave towing to TowBoatUS or SeaTow. They have the experience, equipment and insurance.

Speed would be the minimum required to maintain steerage. I think a bridle off the stern cleats would be simplest, but I have also seen boats being towed while tied beam-to-beam.

Let me start by saying i would be inclined to leave towing to TowBoatUS or SeaTow. They have the experience, equipment and insurance.

Speed would be the minimum required to maintain steerage. I think a bridle off the stern cleats would be simplest, but I have also seen boats being towed while tied beam-to-beam.

Ditto.
If you don't know how to stop a towed boat, don't put yourself in that situation.

Wxx: it'll stop quick enough when it rams yours stern, don't you worry bout it

Keep the tow line long until about to dock, and then tie alongside for docking?

Markpierce is absolutely correct. If you are not in "calm waters" insure that the towing line is long enough to place your vessel and the towed vessel on the crests at the same time (not the same crest). Furthermore when towing alongside place your rudders and props aft of the stern of the towed vessel.