Time to Replace Batteries

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jmreim

Vessel Name
Boundless
Vessel Make
2013 North Pacific 43'
Power needs on my boat are fairly simple. When anchored we use lights (LED), fridge, light use of water pump for sink & toilet and perhaps charging some devices (iPad/iPhone). No genset so no AC or hot H2O heater. We do have an inverter and might use the microwave for coffee/tea in the morning.

The boat currently has 2 8D and 1 Group 31 battery. They all appear to be about 8 years old (the boat was new to me last Nov) and seem to be failing. I'm no expert and trying to learn all I can about battery types and configurations.

The yard has recommended replacement with the same configuration (2 8D and 1 Group 31) using AGM batteries.

Questions:
1) Is this the best configuration to use or should I be looking at other battery sizes?
2) if I change configuration, would that also require other electrical work that could be costly?
3) If I stay with the 2 8D and 1 Group 31, does anyone have a specific battery they think is wonderful?
4) Am I missing any other considerations here?
Thx -
Jim

Are you using the Group31 for starting? And the 2 8Ds for house? If so the 8Ds are probably not what you want for house usage. I would use the 31 for starting and replace the 8Ds with 6V golf cart batteries. I am surprised that a yard would recommend staying with the 8Ds since they aren’t great for deep cycle usage. The gold carts are a much better deep cycle. You do have to change the wiring to have 2 sets of series and put the 2 sets in parallel. And make sure that they are hooked up properly so you are drawing across both sets and not just one set of series. Now would be the time to make the change but you will be much better off with the 6 V house bank and with 4 6V batteries you will have approximately the same amp hours as the 8Ds but better deep cycle.