Suggestions for pulling anchor without windlass?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CharlieO.

Guru
Vessel Name
Luna C.
Vessel Make
1977 Marine Trader 34DC
What are different options for pulling the anchor without a windlass if needed?

I've seen the anchor ball where you kind of drive around in a big circle, would that work on a slow boat? Right now I've got 1" anchor line with about 15' 3/8 chain set up to drop if needed.

Still trying to find a dock space for this Friday on the mid to upper Hudson river when we make our way North to the Champlain canal.

Thanks.

Really strong arms??? Maybe invite Arnold along. Sorry I have no experience with the anchor and ball retrieving system.

Generally you'd pull by hand until the rode is vertical, then cleat it off. Either drive forward over the anchor a bit or back down on it a few times until it breaks free. Then you'll be able to pull it up the rest of the way.

If heavy, grab the rode and walk aft rather than using your arms and back.
once vertical and tight, I always first use reverse to try to break it free. That usually does the trick. If not then I'll go forward on it.
15 feet of chain and the anchor should not be too difficult to haul up.
1 inch anchor line is a little overkill IMO. 5/8 or 3/4 would be easier to manage.

I see no reason you could not pull the anchor with a ball. I see 30-40 foot boats doing it in this area. You are going to need a pretty good size ball to float everything.

If heavy, grab the rode and walk aft rather than using your arms and back.
once vertical and tight, I always first use reverse to try to break it free. That usually does the trick. If not then I'll go forward on it.
15 feet of chain and the anchor should not be too difficult to haul up.
1 inch anchor line is a little overkill IMO. 5/8 or 3/4 would be easier to manage.