Old 12-02-2020, 06:11 AM   #1
Guru

City: Winthrop
Vessel Model: Pacific Trawler 40
Rudder packing on a 2001 Pacific Trawler 40

Hello everyone!

I am new to this forum! I have been boating for over 20 years now AND still learning! I went from a 30 footer with twin gas engines to a 40 foot trawler. Its a whole new world.

Please, I need a little help. I need to replace the packing on the rudder. Would anyone have the part# and the best way to do it. There is also a Simrad auto pilot installed.

Thanks
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2020, 08:04 AM   #2
Veteran Member

City: Oak Harbor, WA
On our previously owned Pacific Trawler 37 the rudder shaft had a Tides Marine dripless seal. Ours was a 1999 model and the previous owner had attempted to reseal it using 5200 adhesive. My attempts to service it were futile and we resorted to having a yard rebuild the seal while the boat was out of the water. My advice would be to seek professional help rebuilding the seal. The autopilot installation really doesn't impact the seal.
Steppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2020, 11:14 AM   #3
Guru

City: Everett
Vessel Name: LIBERTY
Vessel Model: TOLLY 48
Hi Iggy,

There's an existing discussion on this topic in the Pacific Trawler Builder's Forum: https://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/...eal-38343.html

Pete
jungpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2020, 11:14 AM   #4
Guru

City: Nanaimo
Vessel Name: former owner of "Pilitak"
Vessel Model: Nordic Tug 37
Hi Iggy,