release the nautical masses from nautical terms

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

charlesamilton

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Wahuntchoo
Vessel Make
Grand Banks / Classic
Just wondering if I am the only one that really don't see the necessity of nautical terms. Is it really a sin to call a bathroom a bathroom on a boat? or right and left, or bedroom, and does it make any difference if you call a rope a rope, and a kitchen a kitchen? What is the reason for this lingo? Are we cool cuz we have our own language and are part of a exclusive club that feels it is important to call a wall a bulk head? I am a carpenter by trade and you know what guys that are ashamed of being a carpenter call themselves... a "housewright" I guess having a club with its own clever lingo is fun but is it really necessary?

What no port and starboard complaint?
I've always viewed people who can't be bothered with the nomenclature, as a sign of how serious they are about boating in general. Do you feel the same way about things like "rules of the road"? Do you talk on the VHF like it's a CB radio, good buddy?

Ted

Sometimes it is important and sometimes it is just nice to have the knowledge. In an emergency if I say look on the port side my crew knows exactly where to look. On the other hand if I say look on the left and the crew is facing aft they may look on the starboard side instead of the port side. What is wrong with being specific or even having unique terminology?

I've always viewed people who can't be bothered with the nomenclature, as a sign of how serious they are about boating in general. Do you feel the same way about things like "rules of the road"? Do you talk on the VHF like it's a CB radio, good buddy?

Ted

10-4, roger over and out…

A very good reason for nautical terminology is clear communications.
Safety is enhanced when everybody understands exactly what is meant.