re-bedding outside window frame

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

seattleboatguy

Vessel Name
Slow Bells
Vessel Make
Marine Trader 38
I need to re-bed this plastic window frame on the side of my Marine Trader. What type of caulking would you recommend? Is there any way of preventing the leftover caulking in the tube from turning into a brick?

windowframe.jpg

I'd use 3M 4000UV. Put it in the refrigerator will keep it good longer, but not forever.

Your photo shows a lot of dried out cracking chalk around the the window flange. I’m wondering if whoever installed the window used the same chalk under the window flange and it has failed. If so the fix would be to remove the window and use butyl chalk under the flange. The bead of chalk around the exterior should be more cosmetic than a way to waterproof the window.

Caveat, I am not an expert in this area, but I have replaced a plastic Beckson porthole on my Nordic Tug.
According to Beckson and NT, the porthole had to be completely removed with everything cleaned up WELL. Then they recommended the "dreaded" clear silicone as the product of choice FOR PLASTIC. Not your home store kind of silicone but a specific product. Dow 795 or Boatlife Marine Silicone. Other sealants can react with the plastic according to Beckson.
I strickly followed their directions, and my porthole went in fairly easily, with no leaks and is still not leaking 2.5 years later. Not a long time, but that is all the experience with this type of replacement (plastic port using silicone as recommended by the manufacturer). Hope that helps.

I used Sikaflex 291 LOT to do the same job and I am very happy with the result.