Ran Aground Using Navionics.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wingsy

Vessel Make
Barletta L25UE
First...I'm new at this, and I fully expect my bad experience with the Navionics chart plotter to be my fault.

I have a 2021 Barletta LA-25 tritoon and use it on Lake Norman in NC. The boat came with SIMRAD and I bought a Navionics chip and installed it in the SIMRAD. I believe it was the inland lakes southeast version, something like that.

First outing with the new chip and within an hour I ran aground. The chart said I was in 12 ft or water but the sonar said 1.5 ft. Churned up plenty of mud but was able to get out of it without getting wet. Since then I have seen depths on the chart all over the place... saying 4' but depth was actually 18', saying 18' but was 4', etc etc. Most of the time it is close to the sonar reading but most doesn't count, because most of the time I don't want to run aground.

Why is the chart off by so much? Am I possibly not using the correct chip? Any suggestions?

Call Navionics. Lakes don’t change that much. Perhaps it’s the Simrad not giving steady position data. Is the antenna clear?

Welcome aboard. We had Navionics in our last boat. Never saw anything like thar though.

My first thought was to call them but I've not been successful in finding a number other than a local dealer.

Antenna? What antenna??? LOL! If it has an antenna it must be within the unit. Nothing external. Cell sigs on the lake are strong so if that's what it needs, it should get it. Instrument panel is plastic so if it has an internal antenna it's not likely shielded by anything metallic.

May not be Navionics...could just be the charted depth data everyone has.

Many, many areas of the US has very badly charted data due to when and how it was recorded/estimated.