Question about Brokers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ORBoater

I'm looking for a trawler, but new to boat buying so I hope this isn't a stupid question, and that this is the appropriate forum for this question...

I see that brokers are not permitted to post here, but are most (or any) of the boats posted here for sale represented by a broker?

How does it work if I'm working with a buyer's broker? I'm guessing that if a boat is listed here, the seller isn't interested in paying a broker... so is my broker just out of luck on a commission?

Thanks!

Welcome aboard. If you are looking here at a boat I would not involve the broker, depending on your agreement with the broker. Or you may have to pay the brokers fee.

I was a yacht broker in Annapolis for the better part of a year. I sold about a dozen boats during that period. I also bought and sold 6-8 boats of my own through brokers during my cruising years. So, the following comes from that perspective.

Virtually all listings posted here are for sale by owner. That is a different part of the market from broker listed boats. So if you are interested in one of these boats, contact the owner.

AFAIK there are no or very few true buyer's brokers who are paid directly by the buyer.

Almost all brokerage listings have a 10% commission specified in the listing agreement paid by the seller and part of the purchase price. Almost all listing brokers but not all, will split that 50/50 with another broker who brings a buyer to the table.

I would pursue any boats listed here directly with the seller. But that is generally a small part of the market. Most boats in the $100k+ range are listed with a broker.