Old 12-15-2016, 09:25 AM   #1
Ben
Guru

City: Clayton, NC
Vessel Name: Silver Lining
Vessel Model: Heritage East 44 / Twin Perkins T6.3544
Picture Albums of the past

Question for all you photographers out there.

I started snapping pictures with an SLR at the age of 19. I am a competent photographer-hobbyist, but not winning any prizes. All for fun. I am now 54.

I have several albums, but truly only meaningful to me, of my early photo days including college, backpacking through Europe, and days with first wife.

First wife ones are easy if I hand them off to my daughter from that union, now 18, may want to wrap in plastic for a more mature birthday. 18 is not quite there yet, I think. It's Christmas time, and I may drop a small album on her in the present-mix.

College friends I have lost touch with, and memory of, I will probably toss and keep the me and family pictures for my kids. The Europe album I do not wish to dismantle as its kind of a story. (Reagan era, Berlin wall, Morocco, etc)

Scanning 2000 photos has occurred to me, but I won't do this on my own scanner (I think) and debate if I should do a bulk scan (shoebox-scan) which may run about $150 per box.

Any other elder photographer have the toss-or-keep-until-you're-dead dilemma? Any creative solutions?

Would love to hear others' thoughts.
Thanks!
Old 12-15-2016, 10:08 AM   #2
TF Site Team

City: Jacksonville
I scanned several thousand negatives in 2006 using an Epson 4490 scanner. I copied onto DVD's and made a couple sets. The scanner was less than $200 at the time and had great software for the negatives that needed a little touch up. It has a tray that holds about 16 (?) negatives. The software stores them individually. We still use the scanner but now for documents.
Larry M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2016, 10:24 AM   #3
Guru

City: Quebec
Vessel Name: Bleuvet
Vessel Model: Custom Built