Old 11-30-2020, 10:57 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Portland
Vessel Name: TBD
Vessel Model: TBD
Port-side lower helm

Hey all - looking at a 42' Uniflite with lower helm and optional slider ... I'm a bit new to the "bigger boat" world and curious if there are issues to a port-side lower helm. Seems like it could be a docking inconvenience/disadvantage since almost all of the lower helms I see are starboard. The boat is a good fit for us otherwise, but would be our first big boat, and don't want to make a misstep if I can avoid it. Appreciate the feedback.

John

JohnO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2020, 11:20 PM   #2

City: NW Washington State
Vessel Name: Kingfisher
Vessel Model: 37' converted gillnetter/crabber
Whether the helm is port, midships or starboard is utterly immaterial. What difference could there possibly be? Every slip has one boat that ties starboard side and one that's port side tied. There are certainly owners who prefer to tie on the same side as the helm, and may express some preference when selecting a slip in the marina, but the slips are equally divided so neither side has an advantage. After becoming comfortable with the boat it doesn't matter anyway.

Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible. ~The Dalai Lama
Sabre602 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2020, 11:28 PM   #3
Guru

City: Gibsons, B.C.
Vessel Name: Island Pride
Vessel Model: xxxx
I have a Prt side helm. No big deal. You simply learn to operate from the other side. And for the docking you will have to learn to do both side dockings regularily. The only time you will be docking the same way is in your own slip. NO big deal.

The only real question is the objection that if you and another boat are on conflicting courses and you are in the give way position then the port side helm is a bit of a liability as you may not see the other vessel quite as easily.