Old 06-05-2020, 10:49 AM   #1

City: Boston
Perkins diesel education

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone has recommendations on learning about the Perkins diesels as far as educational classes go, I have one on my mainship, 1982 165 hp turbo.

I have a full time schedule as a pilot so I struggle to find things besides a college that offers diesel classes. Any recs will be well received.

I live in Boston, but as a pilot I'm lucky enough to travel world wide so location isn't a problem. Anyone know if Perkins dealer themselves have such classes?

Stay safe out there these days!

Chris

Thesaltyrudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 07:03 PM   #2

City: Wickford, RI
Vessel Name: Volans
Vessel Model: 2001 PDQ MV 32
Sorry Chris, they stopped making the 6.354 a while ago. They're pretty stock engines though, any Diesel course would be applicable. The only tricky parts of those engines are the oil/air/trans oil/ coolant coolers, depending on which model you have.

We had two in our last boat. Anything specific, feel free to ask. I'm sure someone will recommend boatdiesel.com and trans Atlantic diesel (TAD) as resources. The best education I got with those engines was spending a day following the water pipe, then the fuel lines, then the air, etc etc. And cleaning, along the way. Definitely get the shop manual too. It will have expanded diagrams of each component.

Good luck

Previously of "In Sanity" fame. A 40' Mainship from 1981.
Gabe n Em is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 07:20 PM   #3
Guru

City: Cape May, NJ and Englewood, FL
Vessel Name: Irish Lady
The Perkins is an old school mechanical injection diesel. Books by Nigel Calder and Peter Compton are very applicable.
1984 Monk 36 Hull #46
Currently in New Jersey.
High Wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 07:20 PM   #4
Guru

City: Anacortes
I don’t think there is a class on the use of JB weld on corroded o-ring grooves and filing back to shape, but there maybe should be.