Overpowered Boats?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wizard

Veteran Member
Hello All,

I'm looking at trawlers, etc. for future ICW (maybe Bahamas) cruising.* I am an ernest newbie.* In trying to educate myself, and looking at fuel consumption, I am developing a real concern that my cruising ability will be limited by fuel costs.

I seems like most trawlers are over powered.* I am dismissing the "fast trawler" group.* But beyond that, it seem like most of the trawlers in the 40 foot range have 300 to 400 HP and the fuel consumption to match.

I read that diesels don't like to be run at very light loads, so throttling down, (say from 8 knots to 6 knots) while saving fuel, might hurt your engine(s) in the long run.* Is this true?

I have looked at catamarans as an alternative, but the modest-sized PDQ 34 has twin 110's and it displaces 15000 lbs.* The Great Harbor 37, at 47000 lbs uses twin 54's.* The disparity between the two doesn't make sense to me.

Are manufacturers willing to install smaller engines upon custom request?* Will doing so give rise to other problems?** Are manufacturers moving towards more fuel efficiency as fuel costs rise?

Thank you for any opinions -

Mike (wizard)

My tug with a 330 hp Cummins cruised at 9 knots at 1800 rpms. Two miles per gallon. My buddy's 40' Pilgrim with a 100 hp Westerbeke curised at 6 knots and got better milage than we did.
The difference is that 9 knots will get you somewhere in a day where 6 knots may not.

-- Edited by Doc on Friday 25th of November 2011 07:04:34 PM

Are you shopping for new boats only? There are a ton of older boats with smaller motors that get fabulous gph.

wizard wrote:
Hello All,