Our Journey - new build hull #1 of KK 60’

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hrk

Veteran Member
Previously, i started a thread in this forum about our decision making process that evaluated between KK, NH and Flemming in 50’ to 65’ range. Made a decision to go with KK 60’ which is going to be hull #1.

This thread is all about stories and decisions we make and advice we seek
from decision point of buying to commissioning. Please keep in mind that we are a couple in 70’s, newbie to motoring (owned sailboats before), and enjoy slow pace of life.

I have had no prior experience of any of the boat builders we interacted with. That said i must say i was quite pleased with KK folks. Sales person was knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. Everybody we met at KK design team and owners during decision making process were professional
and easy to deal with.

Now the question part!

For those TFers who have gone through the new bld process, i would be curious to know what is typical time period for constructing mold? Is mold making likely to be constrained by supply chain issues currently hurting the world? Boat will be built at a yard in Taiwan.

Also, i am a newbie to TF, so I wonder if talking about build process is a thread that belongs in this forum.

Regarding build time on the molds, how many boats do they need to sell before they start making the molds? Typically it takes a several boat commitment to start the mold building process. Have they reached that point yet?

Ted

Previously, i started a thread in this forum about our decision making process that evaluated between KK, NH and Flemming in 50’ to 65’ range. Made a decision to go with KK 60’ which is going to be hull #1.

This thread is all about stories and decisions we make and advice we seek