Operating Cost of Single versus Twins

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
So I am pretty new to all this and I am looking at the Helmsman 43E. I dont think it has a wing engine either....you guys have no concerns? I do plan to do some extended cruising and this will be my first trawler. I have done some decent sailing...but this is very new to me and I thought either twin engines or a wing engine was pretty important.

So I am pretty new to all this and I am looking at the Helmsman 43E. I dont think it has a wing engine either....you guys have no concerns? I do plan to do some extended cruising and this will be my first trawler. I have done some decent sailing...but this is very new to me and I thought either twin engines or a wing engine was pretty important.

Read the thread back closely....twins and wings are more desireable when self rescue might be the only out. They can be desireable for convenience too...but that is a very personal choice.

Rule number one.... dont take one or even several opinions as gospel.

Your thinking could be a logical extension of your sailboat days, you likely had "the iron topsail",and the sails, to rely on, ie alternative propulsion.
Some here will tell you a single is more reliable than twins,it follows no engine at all would make the risk of breakdown zero.:)
I second your aim of alternative propulsion. Definitely important.

. Nothing (except possibly money) prevents you from having a twin engine, twin keeled boat with the skegs under the propellers and supporting the rudders.

Ted

Space or lack of would turn me off.

Having plenty of space around the engine means it gets regular inspection several times a day and maintenance by me.

If I had twins with limited space, it would not get regular inspection
Maintenance would have to be outsourced at great expense and likely not be done in a timely manner due to labour shortages