older trawlers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DeniseO30

So.. if by some act of a higher power I do find a way to own one of these beauties I'm sure she would be older. My funds, if I do find a way to ge the equity out of my house would (guessing) keep me to well under 30k.

A little history, I'm a non traditional woman that owned an HVAC business for most of my adult life. (3rd gen) I did most of the work on my sailboat. Refrigeration, rewiring the engine, panel, and plumbing hot water, battery systems. etc. I'm also an avid woodworker and small wooden boat builder (but wise enough to know own larger)
My son was my right hand in most of this but left this earth at an early age. Of course my daughters are married with children.

I hate hot weather and would want to be in the northern parts of the country. ICW touring seems like fun but not in June - August.

I am interested in trawler construction what to look at and for. Fiberglass is great but hides allot of rot in stringers, transoms, decks..

Yes, I firmly believe in having the Survey when it finally comes to a purchase agreement. but in the meantime. :whistling:

Casual searching, seems to land me in late 70s to mid 80s boats.. I'm still thinking 28-32 feet. single inboard (with back up outboard):rolleyes:

Just some examples of what I may end up with. Refitting.. NOT a problem but not a life :)
No where ready or even close to buying!
http://www.powerboatlistings.com/view/11263

http://www.powerboatlistings.com/view/17076

Thanks for reading!

Last edited:
If I ever do get the equity from selling my house , I'm quite sure I'll be well under 30k that would seem to land me in the late 70s to mid 80s boats.

Would love to hear thoughts and experiences with older boats.
Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator: