OEM rail hinge

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

theblackhorse

Hello, thank you for having me, my name is Jay. I’m a noob residing in Bradenton FLA currently embarking upon a 1989 LRC reno that my Father owns, the Black Horse. Originally she was named Sugar, lulling away her years undercover in Texas (in case orig owner is known or here).

I’m looking forward to gleaming tons of experienced info from fellow trawlers?? here, so thank you for your guidance and expertise in any matter.

My question is this: what/where is the best source for OEM parts, specifically a rail hinge. See pic for ref. (Hopefully the attachment works)

Ive managed to locate one online but am unsure if its a satisfactory fix. Its a “buck harrington”??

Thanks for any help.

Attachments

• 9FD96124-6944-45D6-9678-F9C7A3E34004.jpeg
    9FD96124-6944-45D6-9678-F9C7A3E34004.jpeg
    182.9 KB · Views: 44
Is yours broken or missing. Some of those hinges were made one-off to fit the profile of the handrails of the boat being built and could be difficult to find. If you have the OEM part and it is in poor shape, consider finding a machine shop capable of repairing it if your search deadends.

Is yours broken or missing. Some of those hinges were made one-off to fit the profile of the handrails of the boat being built and could be difficult to find. If you have the OEM part and it is in poor shape, consider finding a machine shop capable of repairing it if your search deadends.
Thanks for the speedy reply. No, its not broken, my dad cut the top deck rail out (bout 30”) to access the dinghy platform and were hoping we could find an near oem hinge for the rail to be functional again.

Given your suggestion, we may pull the existing one off, in my pic, and take it to a machinist.

My head always goes to resale when considering a fix but we may just use a widely avail marine hinge.

Thanks again rgano