Marine Air Conditioners

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ksanders

Moderator Emeritus
Vessel Name
DOS PECES
Vessel Make
BAYLINER 4788
I need to aquire Marine Air Conditioners, but am a total newby to this area.

My boat will be in Mexico much of the year and I need keep it livable.

What are your recommendations?

What I have now are furnaces that will be removed, leaving the ducting in place for re-use.

What are my alternatives?
Are all of them sea water cooled?

Thanks!

Not sure I would remove your furnaces. My preference is the raw water cooled all in one units. I have one for both staterooms, one for the saloon, and one for the pilothouse. All 3 units are 12,000 BTU reverse cycle to do both heating and cooling. IMO, smaller units are better as they allow you to cool just what you want and make each area the ideal temperature.

The best efficiency comes from extremely short duct runs with the least amount of bends. Two of my units have less than 4' of duct work. Don't underestimate the amount of cooling required for areas with lots of windows such as your helm station. Too large a unit won't run often enough to dehumidify the area. A perfect sized unit will run 90% of the time on the hottest days.

Ted

We did the same thing when we brought Hobo from Alaska to Mexico in 2007/2008. I waited too long to sell the Espar heater though. I paid extra shipping from southern California to the buyer in Seattle. :facepalm: There weren’t many people in California looking to add heat to their boats.