Old 01-29-2014, 09:33 AM   #1
Guru

City: Portland, OR
Vessel Name: Our Heaven
Vessel Model: 1997 4800 Navigator
Making a living around the water or on the water?

As I get closer to my next career choice I have started to touch a lot of different ideas on how to contribute to my families needs. (Financially) Years ago we decided that I would stay at home and raise our son. It has been rewarding in so many ways I can not begin to express my gratefulness at having the opportunity to watch my son grow into the little man he is today. So I will be the one that takes him to school and picks him up leaving me about five to six hours during the day.
Bringing me to my next adventure, I have often thought about working with wood as I love to see the end result of my efforts being paid out in a finished product. However, I have thought about other avenues as well. From driving dump (picking only the jobs I want and can complete within the time I have) to going back into sales.
My background is in sales for nearly twenty years, I would like to avoid doing retail as it will take weekends and we do enjoy our weekends together as a family. Maybe B2B? I have also owned a business that was involved in sales. I have thought about building small boats, and yes I know the profits are small there.
I love the water and would find it very rewarding to marry my love of the water to making some extra funds surrounding that love. The good news, I don't have to support my family. We budget around my wife's income. This would be for boat improvements, vacations, add to the retirement bucket, etc. Not our daily needs.