Long Island to Annapolis

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Surboum

Veteran Member
Vessel Make
Mainship 430
I may be delivering a new to me Mainship 43 from Long Island (south shore) to Annapolis MD in early April or May.

Looking for advice about best routes to take, best places to stay overnight, number of days it will take, potential weather conditions, and other planning considerations.

I have extensive sailing experience on the Chesapeake Bay, but limited trawler experience and no experience with the area between the Chesapeake and Long Island.

Plan to cruise about 6 hours a day which I assume will give me a daily range between 50-70 miles. Willing to mix anchoring and marina stays.

Depending on where you start on the south shore your first stop will be in NY Harbor or Manasquan Inlet. You can anchor behind the Statue of Liberty along side the park in NJ. Don't know about Manasquan but there are lots of marinas there. See https://activecaptain.garmin.com/en-US/Map

Atlantic City is a good next stop, either get a slip at the marina just inside or anchor off to the right of the entrance channel in a protected cut.

Then get a slip in Cape May for your next stop. You can also anchor in Sunset Lake, a few miles NE of the inlet.

Then a long haul up Delaware Bay and into the C&D Canal. Find a convenient marina along the C&D.

Then you should be able to make Annapolis the next day.

Use Active Captain, see above, for marinas and anchorages.

Need any help? PM me. I live in NW Connecticut.

David