Insurance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

OliviaLubeck

Veteran Member
Any advice on getting insurance for an old boat? I am struggling to get an insurance quote on a boat that I may potentially buy to live on. Looking for insurance companies that will insure me without having owned a boat before? I have a lot of boating experience, just have never owned a boat of my own, they have always been family boats. Any information would be helpful. My boyfriend would also be the main operator of the boat and he has a captains license.

Try Peter:

refresh

Peter Ricks
Northwest Regional Manager
NOVAMAR INSURANCE GROUP, INC.
WA Lic # 249824

2500 Westlake Avenue N, Suite D
Seattle, WA 98109

Office: (800) 823 2798
Direct: (206) 350-5051
Mobile: (253) 377-0649
Fax: (206) 281-8036

We have a Geico live aboard policy, although our premium has increased three years in a row. We are now shopping around.

Just called Geico Boat insurance and their limits are 30ft and in my case a 1960 steel trawler is too old so got no quote.

Was looking for liability only agent said 100k is default??
and would have come out for only hundred bucks??

Please chime in on liability numbers that are common or required by marinas
as well as any recommendation for company appreciated

thanks!

Talk to a marine insurance broker. On the east coast try Jack Martin or IMIS/Gowrie both in Annapolis. The popular insurance carriers such as Geico, etc. will often not insure you. These brokers know everyone and will find you a suitable insurance carrier.

David

Thanks David - will follow up with them and post info into forum for reference

Just for completeness sake - called BoatUS Marine Insurance for quote which sounded pretty much like Geico - answer no quote for size steel hull and age - fyi