Old 03-19-2023, 07:08 PM   #1

City: pawtucket
I think I found her

Hello everyone. I think I found my trawler (very happy).

Trying to figure out how long it takes to get the boat throught the new york canals. The boat is located on lake ontario about 6-8 hrs to the oswego locks. I believe it is there that i will start my journey to providence rhode island.

Im pretty sure 1 day (24hrs) will be sufficient to get me from new york harbor to providence but the canals is what i have no experience with. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
Eli
Eli27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2023, 07:25 PM   #2
Guru

City: Fort Myers, FL... Summers in the Great Lakes
Vessel Name: Slow Hand
Vessel Model: Cherubini Independence 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eli27 View Post
Hello everyone. I think I found my trawler (very happy).

Trying to figure out how long it takes to get the boat throught the new york canals. The boat is located on lake ontario about 6-8 hrs to the oswego locks. I believe it is there that i will start my journey to providence rhode island.

Im pretty sure 1 day (24hrs) will be sufficient to get me from new york harbor to providence but the canals is what i have no experience with. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
Eli
Congratulations!

I traveled that route in reverse last year.

Figure a day from Lake Ontario to Brewerton. Without checking the log, I believe it was 3 days to Waterford. Have done 5 or 6 trips up and down the Hudson. 3 days gets me from Waterford to the anchorage behind the Statute of Liberty.

Now I do longish days and take advantage of the tide going up and down the Hudson River. I typically travel at 6 knots, sometimes 7 to take advantage of the tide.

If you need some anchorages or favorite places to tie on the Erie canal or the Hudson River, just ask.

Ted
"Slow Hand" by The Pointer Sisters
O C Diver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2023, 08:04 PM   #3
TF Site Team

City: Seneca Lake NY