Old 01-18-2019, 01:13 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Norfolk, VA
Vessel Name: It’s About Time
Vessel Model: Ocean Alexander 450 Classico
How useful is a cockpit?

Boatless newbie here. My wife and I are planning to buy a boat later this year on which to do the Great Loop in a couple of years when I retire. We're in the process of deciding which features to look for in a boat when we start shopping. I've read Boat Search 101.
We think we want a cockpit motor yacht. It seems the cockpit would make line handling and dinghy access much easier than on a boat without one. How much of a factor is that in reality? (We'll both be mid 60s when we do the Loop; we're both still active and agile at present.) Is there a downside to having a cockpit? Is this one of these strictly personal choice items? I ask because, while there are several CPMY models in our desired size range (42-46 ft), holding out for a cockpit does limit the market a bit, and disqualifies a number of other boats which might otherwise check all our boxes.
Thanks,
David
Sevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 01:31 PM   #2
Veteran Member

City: Duvall
Vessel Name: Beach Music II
Vessel Model: Mainship 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sevo View Post
Boatless newbie here. My wife and I are planning to buy a boat later this year on which to do the Great Loop in a couple of years when I retire. We're in the process of deciding which features to look for in a boat when we start shopping. I've read Boat Search 101.