how much roll is too much?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

seattleboatguy

Vessel Name
Slow Bells
Vessel Make
Marine Trader 38
How much roll is too much roll in a trawler? My neighbor on the dock and I were talking about it last night. I told him my 38' Marine Trader seemed very unstable to me, but I come from a heavy displacement sailboat background, so I'm still a beginner in the trawler world. If I had to guess, I would say too much roll for the average trawler crew would be around 20 degrees each way, and too much roll before the trawler itself became dangerously unstable would be more like 50 degrees. What are your thoughts?

When the refrigerator empties out on the floor you're rolling too much :) My vessel is ballasted so I have no fear it will overturn, nor stay overturned if it did wind up in that position. Good topic though:thumb:

Trawlers behave very differently from a heavy displacement sailboat with a keel weight of about a third of the boat's weight. Many, maybe most trawlers have no weighted keel or ballast low in the hull.

So a trawler depends on hull form for its roll stability whereas a sailboat depends on its ballast.

A typical semi displacement hull trawler has a vanishing stability of about 80-90 degrees of heel, whereas most sailboats have at least 120 and some 140 degrees of positive stability.

With that said, I have been out in our semi displacement Mainship 34T in 8' beam seas and probably rolled 30 degrees. It was tough and a little scary but I don't believe I was in any danger.

So, back to your title question, I don't know how much roll is too much. I am sure that I would be scared shitless if I were experiencing 50 degrees of roll. And with only another 30-40 degrees of margin before turning turtle I doubt if it is safe in those conditions.