Old 02-05-2018, 11:37 PM   #1

City: long beach
Help! About to purchase our First Trawler!

Hello All,
I'm a retired newbie about to purchase our first trawler.
We've pulled our cost of ownership (reading all of the great posts on this forum, speaking with other boat owners) and now about to make an offer on an 88 GB 42' Classic w/ twin FL engines(1500 hrs). The owner has put in over $110K in the boat in the past 4 years. They are looking for about $190K and I know they paid $134K almost 5 yrs ago. What I don't know is how much do owners expect to see a return on their $ spent on improvements ? Is 30% a reasonable percentage to expect on improvements? Should they hope to recoup $0 dollars and include the $ spent as Cost of ownership? Any opinions would be appreciated. I am not sure how to go about looking at the $ the current owner has spent.
The similar boats I've seen run about $165K+, but none seem to have the kinds of upgrades I see in our "future boat". The seller does not have a broker.
Any thoughts from the group?
Thanks for the reply!
dmooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 12:25 AM   #2
Guru

City: Sydney
Vessel Name: Sojourn
Vessel Model: Integrity 386
There is a difference between "improvements" which bring the boat back to good condition and are really maintenance, and novel additions, such as adding thrusters, that were not previously fitted.
Even recouping part of the cost of the "novel additions" might be difficult. But expenditure of both kinds should make the boat more readily saleable.
The seller sounds to be doing well,no need for a broker.
I suggest valuing the boat as it is, regardless of seller expenditure. It is what it is, and if that carries it above more commonly priced boats,it may well be good value for money. Buying quality, even if it costs a little more, can be worthwhile.
BruceK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 12:57 AM   #3
Dauntless Award

City: Wrangell, Alaska
Vessel Name: Dauntless