Hire someone to move a boat by sea

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Godabitibi

Veteran Member
Vessel Make
Mainship 40 Pilothouse
Hi, I'm a member here since not long but been looking for the right diesel trawler for a while now. I live in Quebec Canada and diesel trawlers are a bit rare over here. I found one in Florida that might be a good one for me. I have no experience in long distance boating and not at all on the Atlantic and with the actual virus I can't even enter the USA to go pick it up myself.

Is it possible to find someone to navigate it for me the the north of lake Champlain?
How much would he charge? If I can find a way to bring it here for a decent price I buy it. But in the actuel situation it is really a problem.

I bought a small Class B motorhome in the beginning of March in NJ and all paid but can't go there to pick it up. I'm retired and preparing for the style of life I'd like to have for a few years to come.

Please give me some solution for the boat. I've asked for trailer transport quotes but no answer yet.

Welcome aboard TF
There are delivery captains that can do what you are asking about. I cant guess st price as I've never used one. Others here on TF have done that and will likely chime in.
There are issues now with delivering boats across the borders but I believe some have worked out a way using a delivery Capt.
Be aware that the Champlain canal from Albany to Lk Champlain is closed with an est openning date of Aug 10th.

Working from the bottom up, truck shipping will be expensive because for most trawlers you have to remove the fly bridge to get the clearance required. Figure $15-20K.