Help me plan my journey

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

carter840

Hi All,

Long time lurker, but figured I would start to post and become more active. I am looking to plan a journey, well transparently less of a journey and more a new phase of life. I've been fortunate to consider a yacht purchase within the next year or so. I will do my best to share aspects of consideration, and I would appreciate all of your feedback on how to make the best decisions on this purchase (what vessel) and the surrounding nuances (insurance, operating costs, maintenance, storage etc.).

A bit about me: I live in Massachusetts and am an Engineer by trade with some experience in the marine industry. In short, I can fix things and enjoy mechanical type projects. I do not, however, have experience on any boat larger than 20' (grew up with RIBs and Whalers).

Intended use: I want a go anywhere! Yes I'm talking about an ocean worthy vessel as I'd like to travel from the North Eastern US to the Med (okay if that's via Greenland & Iceland). I very much enjoy the design elements such as hull form and system redundancies found on such a vessel. My Wife: would like comfortable accommodations and and a cruising speed of 15-20 knots so we can make weekend trips within the northeast in a timely manner. I know that cruising speed and my own desires potentially conflict! Likely use is for me to go on more adventurous journeys and for my wife to join me there after traveling via plane in many instances, but still think ocean ability + higher cruising speed will be the hardest spec to meet (full displacement vs. semi displacement when I truly want both).

Design elements that I am interested in in order of most importance:

• 3 cabin layout
  • Portuguese bridge
  • Bow thruster
  • Dual Engines
  • Forward sloped pilot house windows