Old 07-26-2010, 08:49 PM   #1
Guru

City: Atlanta
Vessel Model: Bayliner 4550 Pilothouse
Hello and painting question

Hi All. *I've been a lurker here now and again for a long time. *Some of you may or may not recognize me from another popular boating forum that I participate in. *We are closing this week on a 36' taiwanese trawler (MMC brand which looks the same as Monk and same layout). *She needs her topsides painted. *I am pondering tackling this job myself though I am sure it is more than I ought to handle. *I am new to the older boat/trawler scene. *Any sites or blogs or anything on the web describing how to do this job including prep, etc.? *Which paint is best? *I can only imagine what the cost would be from the yard to paint it though I am sure they would do a better job. *
Thanks in advance!
Woodsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 09:32 PM   #2
TF Site Team/Forum Founder

City: League City, Tx
Vessel Name: Floatsome & Jetsome
Vessel Model: Meridian 411
RE: Hello and painting question

Welcome aboard!!!

Try this link:
http://www.trawlerforum.com/index.sp...picID=33871706

Try this one as well:

http://www.yachtpaint.com/usa/diy/me...ing-guide.aspx
Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 10:14 PM   #3
Guru

City: Concrete Washington State
Vessel Name: Willy
Vessel Model: Willard Nomad 30'

Tony,Good to have you and you will love the archives. Just search back in the threads and separate the fact from fiction. Since we don't always stay on topic you may find what your'e looking for in strange places but ther's a gold mine of information here. There's a whole lot of guys worth knowing here too and if we haven't done it in the past we can do it in the future.

Eric Henning
Thorne Bay Alaska
Willard 30
Nomad Willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:12 AM   #4
FF
Guru

Which paint is best?

BEST?

What do you consider as best?

Ease of application? longest lasting?toughest? ease of repair -touchup? least cost ?