Old 08-25-2015, 09:19 PM   #101
Moderator Emeritus

City: SEWARD ALASKA
Vessel Name: DOS PECES
Vessel Model: BAYLINER 4788
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickB View Post
Rick makes a living from megayachts. Those boats use generator engines the same makes and models as many if not most toy boat propulsion engines.

Over a career of working on boats from 5 hp single cylinder diesels to 60,000hp 12 cylinder 2 stroke diesels, 32,000 hp steam turbines down to 10hp recip steam engines and a host of gassers from make & break to electronic ignition, diesel electric to direct reversing engines of modern build to those nearly a century old and everything in between I have to say that your conception and misrepresentation of my background is as nonsensical as some of the material posted in this thread.

How about just concentrating on the content of the posts and get past your prejudices about the source and all readers might learn a bit.
Thanks You Rick, I did not have a problem and do not. Smitty477's question was valid, and thanks very much for answering.
https://maps.findmespot.com/s/XLJZ#history/assets
ksanders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 10:42 PM   #102
Moderator Emeritus

What I am seeing in the field is that high horsepower to displacement diesels are having a much shorter useful lifespan than their owners, and the "diesel legend of longevity" would indicate.

This differs from the same engine block being used in a generator application. In a generator application for example we generally see between 20 and 25,000 hours of operation prior to rebuild or replacement. In a pleasure craft application we are seeing many of the high horsepower to weight engines needing rebuild at 2,000 hours or thereabouts.