Old 05-05-2022, 06:18 AM   #21
Guru

City: Annapolis
Vessel Name: Ranger
Vessel Model: 58' Sedan Bridge
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger58sb View Post
I dunno what brand our home-slip dockwash hose is or where I got it, but it's heavy green rubber... and I've been using it for about 15 years, always out in all weather during our seasons, no issues.

I just happened to remember we've got about 500' of black rubber hose -- Sears Craftsman -- that we've been using around the various houses for the last 25 years or so.

Black rubber isn't all that suitable for dock use, I guess, but it's certainly long-lasting.

The green rubber hose we have at the dock shows promise of lasting that long, too...

-Chris
Old 05-05-2022, 08:58 AM   #22

City: Fayetteville, NC
Vessel Name: Dirty Deeds
Vessel Model: Maritimo 48
The Zero G's are the ticket. I doubt I'll ever buy another rubber garden hose.

However, the comments about the aluminum fittings on the Zero G are spot on. A friend asked me to remove a Zero G from a hose bib at her house. I tried with pump pliers but it was absolutely seized to the hose bib. I stopped for fear of damaging the hose bib. Next step would be to cut the hose fitting with a hack saw or Dremel tool.

If you're going to leave a Zero G on the hose bib for months, install a plastic valve between the hose bib and the hose.
ABfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2022, 01:28 PM   #23

City: Victoria, BC
Vessel Name: Waves of Grace
Vessel Model: Universal 36
I just bought a Zero G hose, and it has a brass insert at the female end that attaches to the tap.
hobbystuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2022, 05:36 PM   #24
Guru

City: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Vessel Name: Xanadu
Vessel Model: Mainship 37 Motor Yacht