Fuel system question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lostsailor13

Vessel Name
Broadbill
Vessel Make
Willard 36
For my on engine fuel filter I have a cartridge type filter,my question is changing that filter with a racor 500 that way eliminating the need to find such an odd ball filter eventually when I start heavy cruising,having 2 of the same filters would be quite nice,then when it's time to swap filters I take the on engine one off move it down the line and put fresh one in at engine,is that something possible or what

Basically no. I am no expert but most engine (secondary) filters are proprietary, spec’d by the engine manufacturer. They rarely require replacement as an emergency. The primary filter & water separator up stream of that does all the heavy lifting in most boats. Many of us have dual Racors (or equivalents) as primary filtration- flip a lever once the suction pressures climb bringing the backup fresh primary filter on line,. Change out the clogged one ASAP.
I carry 1 spare secondary filter & 5 spare primary filters for each engine

What is the engine?
How many filters do you have?
Can you post a photo or two of what you have now?
I think I understand what you are asking but before relying I want to be sure I have it right.

While Racor filters can operate under a small amount of pressure, they are designed for use in vacuum. Secondary filters operate under pressure as they are after the lift pump. I wouldn't use a Racor in that application, and certainly not without verifying the Racor could handle the lift pump pressure.

Ted