Old 12-16-2019, 08:29 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Seattle
Vessel Name: Bailey
Vessel Model: 46' Grand Banks Motor Yacht
Espresso Machines

Curious what if any of you are using for espresso machines onboard. I forget where I had read but something about boat electrical and these machines not playing well together.

Any tips?
stiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2019, 08:53 PM   #2
Guru

City: Fort Myers, FL... Summers in the Great Lakes
Vessel Name: Slow Hand
Vessel Model: Cherubini Independence 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiggy View Post
Curious what if any of you are using for espresso machines onboard. I forget where I had read but something about boat electrical and these machines not playing well together.

Any tips?
Are you referring to the Nespresso machines? If so, they need to be used on pure sine wave inverters. Their electronics don't live long on a modified sine wave inverter. I've been using one for several years through my inverter without issue.

Ted
"Slow Hand" by The Pointer Sisters
O C Diver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2019, 09:01 PM   #3
Guru

City: Bethesda, MD
Vessel Name: Solstice
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 47 Eastbay FB
The coffee made from pods is terrible compared to, well, just about anything else. We've had both Nespresso and Keurig and they pale in comparison to a decent superautomatic machine (takes whole beans, grinds them for each cup). Trouble is it's difficult to find a decent super that'll fit in most boat galley areas.
Old 12-16-2019, 09:01 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by O C Diver View Post
Are you referring to the Nespresso machines? If so, they need to be used on pure sine wave inverters. Their electronics don't live long on a modified sine wave inverter. I've been using one for several years through my inverter without issue.

Ted