Old 11-14-2017, 03:48 PM   #1
Guru

City: Quebec
Vessel Name: Bleuvet
Vessel Model: Custom Built
Engine cooling pros & cons

Hello fellow TFers,
Reading another post about keel cooling I was wondering what are the pros and cons about keel cooling and raw water cooling.
I am not a pro so information for my education will be welcomed.
At first sight I can see for keel cooling:
Pro: no raw (salty) water ingress so less corrosion
Cons: hot exhaust going through the whole boat. Noisier?
And for raw water cooling the exact opposite.

Anyone to jump in and elaborate a bit more on the subject?

L
Lou_tribal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 04:24 PM   #2
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
Well, conventional raw water circulating through a heat exchanger both cools the engine's coolant system as well as cools the hot exhaust gasses so they can be sent through a rubber hose out the transom.

Keel cooling uses the engine's coolant pump (usually) to pump coolant through an external heat exchanger, the keel cooler and then through the engine. But it doesn't do anything for the exhaust gasses. Most boats with keel coolers use a dry stack exhaust where the hot exhaust exits up though a chase with an air gap and out the top of the boat. These dry stack exhausts use a lot of interior room and can result in soot particles dropping back on the boat. Another disadvantage is the drag of the external cooler so it is only used on displacement hulls.

The major advantage is simplicity- no raw water pump and no circulating raw water to corrode exchangers, ruin impellers, etc. It is only really used on commercial boats.

Another way of dealing with the exhaust cooling on a keel cooled boat is to use a raw water pump to pump water through an exhaust mixer just like a raw water cooled engine. This scheme is sometimes combined with a hydraulic oil cooler or I suppose the raw water could be used for a lube oil and transmission cooler.