Old 11-09-2016, 04:30 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Mount Pleasant
Vessel Name: Endeavour
Vessel Model: '87 Island Gypsy
Electricity while running?

I know this is a total newb question and I've been hesitant to ask, but here goes...

We're planning on purchasing a 35' - 40' aft cabin style diesel for a summer cruise up and down the intracoastal. We're planning on mostly traveling and anchoring during the week and staying in marinas(shore power) during the weekend.

While our engine is running, will it also be able to run the boat's electric system? ie, our refrigerator, a/c, and outlets?

Or, does the diesel generator also need to be running while underway? Can the generator run while underway? Is it ok for the generator to run 24/5?

Thanks!
lowcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 04:35 PM   #2

City: Memphis
Vessel Name: Ivory Lady
Vessel Model: 46 Jefferson
Generally, your generator would supply house power while away from the dock, but you can wire in an inverter to run a few things off the battery while underway. We had a small household fridge that could be switched over to the inverter while we were out. Your house lights will also likely be wired into your battery, so those should work while out. Things like A/C, water heaters, etc will likely need the generator.
clynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 04:35 PM   #3
Guru

City: Ft Pierce
Vessel Name: Sold
Vessel Model: Was an Albin/PSN 40
Engine supplies 12V to systems such as many refrigerators, lights, charges batteries...

The Generator is usually required for Air Conditioning or heating and things plugged into wall outlets, and battery chargers that feed batteries not hooked into a system where the engine alternators charge and power things.
psneeld is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 04:44 PM   #4
Guru

City: Cape May, NJ
Vessel Name: Irish Lady
Vessel Model: Monk 36
[QUOTE=lowcountry;494939]