Do I really need paper charts?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Everyone has to decide for himself what he or she wants to do. If someone does not want a paper chart that is fine, I will keep one. Perhaps it comes from my training as a pilot, I am used to doing it.
I also do take bearings along the route, plot the route I want to sail on a chart before I get the waypoints and put them into the GPS. I draw the track on a map as well, so I can see where we go, what we cross and that way I don't end up like the guys in Paxos just recently. They just pushed 'present position to A, never took a good look at the chart and completely missed a couple of rocks in the middle of the sea, so they hit it with 30 kts, boat completely destroyed. E-sysman made an episode about it.
But like I said, everyone has to decide for himself.
I just wonder if the tablet or phone is also in your grab bag in case you have to abandon ship and get into a dinghy. And how are you going to charge that phone or tablet when you sit in that dinghy ?

I just wonder if the tablet or phone is also in your grab bag in case you have to abandon ship and get into a dinghy. And how are you going to charge that phone or tablet when you sit in that dinghy ?

Don't think anyone is going to be doing much navigating in a dinghy. Activate the epirb. They'll find you.

Not everyone has your skills, nor familiarity of the water, inlets, and anchorages likely to be encountered.

Completely irrelevant.

A Raster chart on a computer is a PICTURE of a paper chart.

And where in the world does someone thinking drawing on paper and checking a route is any different than the extraordinarily easy route making on electronic charts and checking them?

All a GPS does on a chartplotters is make a little moving ship.