Coast guard

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nautibeaver

Vessel Name
NautiBeaver
Vessel Make
Nordlund 68'
Interesting experience. IMG_6620.jpg

And my advice, I have 30 life jackets on board and make a point to take them out to match guest and place them on dash in pilot house. Well I have been boating for many years and never been boarded. I actually and strangely wanted to go through it once. Well today we almost had the chance. The coasties asked how many I have on board, and as I offered to get fenders out, they asked if I had life jackets to match. I pointed to the fly bridge and said, yes and always set them out to match souls on board. They said thanks and moved on without boarding.

Quick and easy and barely even came to a stop.

Btw, shrimpin’ is incredible this year!!!! 8 limits yesterday and 8 limits today.

1280 spotted prawns in 4 hours total shrimping.

Good time. IMG_6610.jpgIMG_6584.jpg

Doesn't it feel good to be adequately equipped and prepared when you cruise, knowing that if you are boarded you won't end up with one of those little slips of paper from the water cops.

Sorry you didn't get the boarding you wanted. Isn't it amazing how easy things go when you're prepared.

That is the type of inspection I like...come alongside, check the name and registration, see that I am not an intoxicated fool, and move on. Glad your shrimping is hot. They were limiting in Discovery Bay last weekend.

Only one time in 50+ years have I been boarded by the coast guard. I was moving the boat to Friday Harbor and was by myself, my wife was taking the car on the ferry. I saw them coming so I stopped. They asked when the last time I had a safety inspection and I said never, so 3 came aboard.